Skip to Main Content

M.C. Sungaila Receives Ellis Island Medal of Honor

May 16, 2017 09:38 AM
M.C. Sungaila

IADC member M.C. Sungaila, a partner at Haynes and Boone, LLP, recently was awarded the Ellis Island Medal of Honor in a ceremony on Ellis Island in early May.

The award is given annually by the National Ethnic Coalition of Organizations (NECO) to a U.S. immigrant or native-born citizen who has made significant contributions to their local communities, the nation or the world, both through their professional accomplishments and service to humanity. This year, recipients include astronaut Buzz Aldrin, entertainment executive Sherry Lansing, and Pepsi CEO Indra Nooyi.

As NECO describes them:

Each year since 1986, NECO – whose mission is to advocate for positive change in the present, and to build strong leaders for the future – has honored our nation’s diverse past by sponsoring the Ellis Island Medals of Honor. The Ellis Island Medals of Honor annually pay tribute to the ancestry groups that comprise America’s unique cultural mosaic. The Medals are presented on Ellis Island, in a dramatic ceremony, to American citizens of diverse origins for their outstanding contributions to their communities, their nation, and the world.

Past Ellis Island Medal of Honor recipients include seven Presidents of the United States (including President Trump), Nobel Prize winners, athletes, leaders of industry, artists, and others whose work has made a lasting impact on humanity (such as Rosa Parks, Muhammad Ali, Elie Weisel, Gregory Peck, Madeline Albright, Michael Eisner, Justice Sandra Day O’Connor).

The Medals are awarded annually to outstanding American citizens, from all walks of life, who have distinguished themselves through their significant contributions to this country. The Ellis Island Medal of Honor ranks among the nation’s most prestigious awards. The U.S. Senate and House of Representatives have officially recognized the Ellis Island Medals of Honor, and each year the recipients are listed in the Congressional Record. 




© 2017 International Association of Defense Counsel. All Rights Reserved.|Website design and development by, Inc

close (X)