2017 IADC Legal Writing Contest Winners

July 5, 2017 01:14 PM

The IADC holds its Legal Writing Contest annually. All J.D. candidates currently enrolled at accredited law schools are eligible to submit articles on subjects in the fields of tort law, insurance law, civil procedure, evidence or other areas of the law of practical concern to lawyers engaged in the defense, or management of the defense of civil litigation. 

Prize-winning articles and honorable mentions are considered for publication in the Defense Counsel Journal, the IADC's quarterly academic publication that reachs a broad legal audience from around the world.

Congratulations to the winners of the 2017 Legal Writing Contest:

2017 - 1 - First Place, Graham Dean
UNC School of Law
“Regulating Autonomy”

2017 - 2 - Second Place, Conrad Flaczyk
McGill University, Faculty of Law
“Moving Beyond Uberrima Fides? The General Duty of Honesty in Contractual Performance and Punitive Damage Awards in Anglo-Canadian Contract Law”

2017 - 3 - Third Place, Nathan Cox
Baylor Law School
What is a “Substantial Expense?” Determining the Range of a Court’s Subpoena Power Over a Nonparty Witness Under Federal Rule 45(c).”

2017 - Honorable Mention, Patrick M. Hagan
Regent University School of Law
“Virginia Auto Insurers Tread Softly: An Underinsured Motorist Carrier's Good Faith Duty (or Lack Thereof) Before Judgment”

2017 - Honorable Mention, Priya D. Srinivasan
UCLA School of Law
“Holding Law Enforcement Accountable: Transitioning to Professional Liability Insurance to Reduce Police Misconduct”

2017 - Honorable Mention, Amy Levitt
Loyola Law School, Los Angeles
“Certify This! Class Actions and The Ascertainability Standard After Sandusky Wellness Ctr., LLC v. Medtox Sci., Inc.

Back to news