Events

VIEW:
summary | month | week | day | details

An Appealing Comparison - The Basics of How Commercial Cases Are Appealed In Different Countries' Court Systems

Wednesday, May 04, 2022
09:00 AM GMT - 6:00 Central Standard Time (US & Mexico) - 10:00 AM GMT - 6:00 Central Standard Time (US & Mexico)


Please join us for a complimentary Webinar sponsored by the Appellate Practice Committee on Wednesday, May 4, 2022 for (1) hour beginning at: 7:00 AM PDT / 8:00 AM MDT / 9:00 AM CDT / 10:00 AM EDT


Webinar_-_5.4.2022

An Appealing Comparison – The Basics of How Commercial Cases Are Appealed In Different Countries' Court Systems

You lose a big case in an unfamiliar court system. Or you win and the other side appeals. What are your chances, and what questions should you ask? Distinguished appellate practitioners will compare the basics of the appellate process in their jurisdictions. Is new evidence allowed on appeal? What sources of law does the court look to? Can judges be removed from office for unpopular decisions? Will the appellate decision control other cases involving your client? This Webinar is designed for in-house counsel, insurance executives, and others who need to know what to think about and what questions to ask when considering an appeal in an unfamiliar court system.

Key Takeaways:

  • This Webinar will help you understand how appeals differ between court systems,
  • how those differences can affect the chance of winning the appeal and the costs and benefits of appealing, and,
  • basic questions to ask when trying to understand the appeal process in an unfamiliar jurisdiction.

PRESENTERS:
‚ÄčSinan Abra, CMS Turkey, Istanbul, Turkey
Lisandro Allende, A&F | Allende • Ferrante | Abogados, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Philipp Behrendt, Taylor Wessing Partnerschaftsgesellschaft MbB, Hamburg, Germany
Robert A. Brundage, Bowman and Brooke LLP, San Jose, California USA
Sitpah Selvaratnam, Tommy Thomas, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

*Please note this Webinar will take place at 9 a.m. central.

For information on any upcoming Webinar, please visit the Webinar page on the IADC website.

 
Close